Other Stories

President Moon approves seven most severely damaged areas as 'Special Disaster Zones' Updated: 2020-08-07 17:04:20 KST

The damage is mounting from the heavy downpours that have slammed South Korea, especially Seoul and the central region.
According to the Central Disaster and Safety Countermeasure Headquarters, as of 4:30 PM on Friday, 17 people have died since the start of August and 10 are unaccounted for.
This does not include the one death and five people still missing after a private inflatable boat and a patrol boat capsized Thursday as they attempted to rescue crew on a police boat at a dam in Gangwon-do Province.
Friday afternoon, President Moon Jae-in approved the seven most severely impacted areas as "Special Disaster Zones," which will free up emergency relief funds.
These areas include Anseong city in Gyeonggi-do Province, Cheorwon city in Gangwon-do Province and parts of the Chungcheong-do Provinces.

"Local governments and the central government together have measured the amount of damage and have designated the seven Special Disaster Zones to get support to these areas quickly."

If a region is designated as a special disaster zone, the local authorities can get 50 to 80 percent of the money they need for restoration work from the central government.
Also, residents who've had property damage or who've lost their livelihoods, can get disaster relief funds and will have some public utility charges waived.

In the last seven days, more than two-thousand six-hundred people have been affected, mostly in terms of property damage.
South Korea is expected to get up to 300 millimeters of rain until Saturday, accompanied by wind, thunder and lightning.
Some parts of the country are forecast to see 30 to 50 millimeters of rain per hour including parts of Gyeonggi-do, Gangwon-do and the Chungcheong-do Provinces.
Eum Ji-young Arirang News
KOGL : Korea Open Government License
본 저작물 중 본문에 해당하는 뉴스 스크립트(텍스트)는 공공누리 제1유형-출처표시 조건에 따라 이용할 수 있습니다.