Other Stories

Government designates five more regions as special disaster zones Updated: 2020-09-15 13:25:34 KST

South Korea has designated another five regions of the country as special disaster zones to help them recover from the two typhoons that hit in the past several weeks.
These regions are are Samcheok city and Yangyang county in Gangwon-do Province, and the counties of Yeongdeok, Uljin, Ulleung in Gyeongsangbuk-do Province.
Here's the announcement from the Blue House.

"President Moon Jae-in had ordered swift restortation efforts and a quick assessment of the damage so that the disaster designations could be completed before the Chuseok holiday for the worst affected regions. With the designations, we are hoping for effective restoration in the affected areas."

These areas will be eligible for state-funded restoration work, while affected residents will be able to receive financial support for their living expenses.
The top office said that further designations will be announced after on-site inspections and assessments of other areas.
KOGL : Korea Open Government License
본 저작물 중 본문에 해당하는 뉴스 스크립트(텍스트)는 공공누리 제1유형-출처표시 조건에 따라 이용할 수 있습니다.