arirang news

Ruling party wins July 30 by-elections Updated: 2014-07-31 20:05:38 KST

Ruling party wins July 30 by-elections

The ruling Saenuri Party took home 11 out of the 15 parliamentary seats up for grabs in Wednesday's by-elections regaining majority at the National Assembly.
In the hotly-contested race of Seoul's Dongjak-B district, the ruling party's former Seoul mayor candidate Na Kyung-won secured a ticket to parliament after defeating her unified opposition rival Roh Hoe-chan.
In the Suwon-C district of Gyeonggi-do Province, opposition candidate and political big name Sohn Hak-kyu bowed out to conservative rookie Kim Yong-nam.
In the Suwon-D district, the opposition's Park Kwang-on, a former journalist came out the winner against his ruling party rival and chief of staff to former president Lee Myung-bak Yim Tae-hee.
The ruling party swept the other three capital area districts, including Gimpo, where the ruling party's Hong Cheol-ho tasted victory against liberal political veteran Kim Doo-kwan.
Securing all of the two seats in its traditional stronghold of southeastern Gyeongsang region, the ruling party also took all three seats from the central Chungcheong area.
As for the opposition, it won three seats from the political base of southwestern Jeolla region.
But the fourth seat in the Suncheon-Gokseong district was claimed by President Park's close aide Lee Jung-hyun, the first-time ever by a ruling party candidate.
Kim Min-ji, Arirang News.
KOGL : Korea Open Government License
본 저작물 중 본문에 해당하는 뉴스 스크립트(텍스트)는 공공누리 제1유형-출처표시 조건에 따라 이용할 수 있습니다.