arirang news

The World On arirang

SAT, 2015-08-01 KST

arirang Head Menu

Germany crowned World Cup champions with 1-0 victory over Argentina Updated: 2014-07-14 19:59:29 KST

As many fans and pundits predicted, it was an exciting match to close out the 2014 Brazil World Cup.
With the match going the full 90 minutes without a single goal scored, the match went into extra time, still looking for a clear winner.
It wasn't until the 113th minute, when Mario Gotze scored a brilliant goal, giving Germany the 1-0 lead, and the win.
For Germany, this marks their fourth World Cup win, but first as a unified nation, as the team have only won as West Germany, in the past.

For Argentina's Lionel Messi, who shanked his final chance at an equalizer, he was still able to win the Golden Ball award, given to the best player in the tournament.
As expected, German goalkeeper Manuel Neuer claimed the Golden Glove Award, for the top goalkeeper in the tournament.
Colombia's James Rodriguez takes home the Golden Boot Award with 6 goals in total.

And now that the 2014 Brazil World Cup has ended, the baton is passed over to Russia, who will host the 2018 World Cup.
SJ Lee, Arirang News.
KOGL : Korea Open Government License