arirang news

President Park nominates 7 new Cabinet ministers Updated: 2014-06-13 15:59:23 KST

President Park nominates 7 new Cabinet ministers

As highly expected, President Park has nominated her close aide and former ruling party floor leader Choi Kyung-hwan as finance minister and deputy prime minister.
The former bureaucrat's experience in economic policy-making, and later in parliament were highly valued in the pick, as the president has a three-year plan to revitalize the local economy.
President Park also named Choi Yang-hee, a computer science and engineering professor as her science and ICT minister.
The nominee's career-long contributions to the development of convergence technology and innovative thinking were acknowledged in his nomination.
For new education minister and second deputy prime minister, Kim Myung-soo, the president of the Korean Educational Research Association was named.
He is expected to play a key role in reforming the country's education system.
Chong Jong-sup was nominated to replace Security Minister Kang Byung-kyu, who came under fire for the government's lax management of April's ferry accident.
As her culture minister, President Park named Chung Sung-keun, the president of Arirang TV and Radio.
The presidential office spoke highly of the former journalist's excellent communication skills and understanding of the president's administrative philosophy.
Lee Ki-kweon, the former vice labor minister was nominated to head the same ministry.
To replace Gender Equality Minister Cho Yoon-sun, who was named a presidential secretary this week, ruling party lawmaker Kim Hee-jung was nominated.
As for the maritime minister, who had offered to resign after the Sewol-ho ferry accident recovery ends, the presidential office said he will stay put for now.

"By nominating her close aides into the Cabinet, as well as the presidential office, it's expected that President Park will further secure her authority in running state affairs. Her office says there will be no other nominations until the government restructuring bill to establish a safety ministry passes parliament.
Choi You-sun, Arirang News."
KOGL : Korea Open Government License
본 저작물 중 본문에 해당하는 뉴스 스크립트(텍스트)는 공공누리 제1유형-출처표시 조건에 따라 이용할 수 있습니다.