arirang news

Ruling, opposition parties name respective floor leaders Updated: 2014-05-08 16:02:53 KST

Ruling, opposition parties name respective floor leaders
In domestic politics
Following one of the nation's worst ferry accidents in history and ahead of local elections early next month, the ruling and opposition parties elected new floor leaders on this Thursday.
The ruling Saenuri Party named its single candidate, Lee Wan-koo , their new floor leader without a vote.
His running mate Joo Ho-young was chosen as the head of the party's policy
Lee is a member of the faction closest to President Park.
The main opposition bloc - New Politics Alliance for Democracy - elected Park Young-sun as its new floor leader, following a run-off.
Park, who garnered support from the current leadership and junior lawmakers in the party, is the first woman to hold such a post in Korea's constitutional history.
The two floor leaders now face the task of negotiating ways to probe the Sewol-ho ferry accident and the government's response, as well as coming up with measures to prevent such disasters in the future.

KOGL : Korea Open Government License
본 저작물 중 본문에 해당하는 뉴스 스크립트는 공공누리 제1유형-출처표시 조건에 따라 이용할 수 있습니다.
단, 영상 자료는 저작권 문제로 자유이용이 제한되니, 담당자에게 확인하여 주시기 바랍니다.
(국제방송교류재단 김형선 : ☎02-3475-5263)