arirang news

Nuclear Powers to Sign Deal to Make ASEAN Nuclear-Free Updated: 2012-06-30 00:00:00 KST

The five leading nuclear powers will promise at the annual summit of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations next month that they will not develop or possess nuclear arms in the ASEAN region.
A formal agreement will be signed by the U.S., China, Russia, the U.K. and France at the ASEAN Regional Forum in Cambodia according to Japanese news agency Kyodo.
The expected pact would include a protocol stating that the nuclear powers will respect a nuclear weapons moratorium agreed by the 10 ASEAN members in 1997.
The planned treaty, if ratified, would make the ASEAN the first nuclear-free region in Asia.
KOGL : Korea Open Government License
본 저작물 중 본문에 해당하는 뉴스 스크립트(텍스트)는 공공누리 제1유형-출처표시 조건에 따라 이용할 수 있습니다.